How is the Future Party organised?


The structure of the Future Party is relatively simple.

The Leader of the party is elected by an internal ballot of all members, on a ticket alongside three others who become “Regular Members of the Executive” or RMEs. Internal ballots are also held to preselect candidates before parliamentary elections – with the exception of the Leader, who if he or she elects to run for a particular lower house seat or Senate ticket, will be the party's (highest ranked) nominee on the party’s ticket. 

Together, the Leader, Regular Members of the Executive, and any elected parliamentarians, make up the Executive of the party. The Executive is the party’s supreme decision making body and has broad powers under the party constitution in matters of both determining policy and internal administration. This strongly centralized decision making system is balanced by a high degree of democratic accountability – it is relatively easy for party members to force a new election for the leadership.

Thus, unlike most large political parties in Australia, the organisational and (possible future) parliamentary wings of the Future Party will both answer directly to the same leadership group, who in term answer to the membership.

The Executive appoints a number of office bearers to carry out the day-to-day administration of the party. These are the Secretary, the Treasurer, and the Director, who have defined roles under the constitution, as well as various secondary offices that can change over time to suit the party’s needs.

For more details, see the party’s constitution (it is relatively short and straightforward, although be aware it may change from time to time.)